Yamamoto New Scalp Acupuncture

Yamamoto New Scalp Acupuncture (YNSA) was introduced in 1973 during the 25th
Annual Meeting of the Japanese Society of Ryodoraku Medicine which was held in Osaka, Japan. YNSA is different from Chinese scalp acupuncture. The locations of YNSA’s needling points are different from those of the therapeutic zones of Chinese scalp acupuncture. YNSA is a somatic representation or microsystem which is comparable to other well-known microsystems, such as ear acupuncture (auricular therapy) and hand acupuncture (Sujok acupuncture) and comprises basic acupuncture points (somatopes) mainly on the scalp and other body regions. The main or basic YNSA somatotope is located bilaterally on the forehead in the Yin position along the frontal hairline, and a mirror-like reflection of this anterior somatope is located bilaterally on the occipital scalp in the Yang position (Figure 1). Since the hairline varies from person to person, the exact locations of the needling points will vary from person to person depending on the anatomy of their skull. In view of these differences, the word “new” was incorporated into the name in order to distinguish it from Chinese scalp acupuncture.

YNSA’s needling points are divided into several categories:

1. Nine basic points, which are named A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, and I. Stimulation of these points exerts a general effect on the body, the internal organs, the musculoskeletal system, and the peripheral nervous system. Five of the Yin basic points (A, B, C, D, and E) are located on the forehead on either side of the midline along the natural hairline. The basic E point is located above both eyebrows in the supraorbital foramen. The F point is unusual because it is located in the occipital Yang area behind the ears over the mastoid bone process at the height of the ear’s tragus. The H and I
points were added after discovery and use of the A, B, C, D, E, F, and G points, and the I point has since become a somatotope. Eight of the nine points (A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and H) are reflected bilaterally in the occipital area as Yang points.
2. Four facial sensory points, eye, nose, mouth, and ear, which are located on both sides of the face and are also reflected on the Yang side of the scalp. Three of these sensory points (eye, nose, and mouth) are located bilaterally on the forehead in an area between the basic A and E points (about 1 cm lateral to the midline, below the location of basic point A and the medial area of point E). The ear sensory point is located at the continuation of point C towards the bridge of the nose and at a height that is between the eye and nose points. Needling of one these points stimulates and medicates the sense and the structure of that facial sensory organ.
3. Three brain zones (points), the cerebrum, the cerebellum, the basal ganglia (midbrain), and are located bilaterally close to the scalp’s sagittal line just above the frontal hairline in the Yin and the Yang. Stimulation of these points exerts an affect on the central nervous system.
4. Twelve Ypsilon points, KID, UB, LU, SI, PI, ST, SJ, LI, GB, PC, HT, and LIV, and are bilaterally located in the temporal Yin region with a corresponding posterior Yang representation. Stimulation of these points exerts an effect on the 12 internal organs and 12 meridians.
5. Twelve cranial nerve points which are located bilaterally and are a posterior continuation of the line of point A. Six of these 12 points overlie the brain points. Stimulation of these points affects the internal organs and the 21 cranial nerves.
Most of the abovementioned points are associated with a diagnostic zone, which should be palpated before selecting a needling point and body side. An accurate diagnosis improves the therapeutic value the of acupuncture treatment.